Taft’s Ale House
All Entries > Building Architecture
Built in 1850 as St. Paul’s Church in the historic Over-the Rhine neighborhood, the long abandoned building was saved from storm damage and the wrecking ball as emergency stabilization efforts began in 2011. The 14,000 sq. ft. masonry structure became the beneficiary of a Federal and State historic tax credit that helped resurrect the structure as a brewery, restaurant and pub. Developed under the guidelines and oversight of the National Parks Board the concept, now known as Taft’s Ale House, respects the ghosts of its past while celebrating a new and approachable vibrancy. The physical structure and repaired shell remains a testament to the building’s history as windows, doors, floor openings and the cove ceilings were repaired as contributing elements. The main entrance and staircase were reconstructed to promote the visibility of the interior from the street. This grand procession ends at the reinterpreted ‘altar’; 8 serving vessels, each housing 5,000 gallons of in-house brewed craft beer. Bathed in rich materials and nostalgic charm, the interior is a bohemian mix of plaster, stained wood, steel storefronts, vintage industrial furniture, reclaimed lighting and storied local Rookwood Pottery tile. Taft’s Ale House, much like its predecessor, St. Paul’s Church, has reclaimed its position as the anchor tenant in Over-the Rhine.